the-transfeminine-mystique:
closet-keys:
I’m always a little baffled when liberals will see leftists doing something and object out of the fear that the right will “use it as justification” to do xyz oppressive shit.
because like… literally 100% of the time they already are doing that exact oppressive thing, and there’s centuries of evidence that they will just make up justification when they don’t find anything concrete to blame it on anyway
organizing to combat voter suppression isn’t the cause of voter suppression.
organizing to prevent fascist groups from terrorizing communities isn’t the cause of fascism.
advocating for the end of boarders isn’t the cause of the United States government deporting people
I don’t understand how so many people have been convinced that any advocacy or organizing is the cause of oppression instead of the fight against it. How do you consistently mix up cause and effect this much?
So much of liberal rhetoric is focused not on stopping or combatting what is happening, but instead on trying to get the referee to notice that the other side isnt playing fair so they’ll step in and put things back *~*the way they should be*~* and so a lot of the time when they say that the right would “use _____ as justification” for something, what they really mean on some level is “_______ could be said to provoke that response, and as soon as we do anything to provoke, we no longer have the moral high ground”
and of course there is no referee — there’s nobody standing outside the system who is empowered to step in and throw a flag when somebody is “cheating.” But they just can’t get past the illusion that if they point out enough times that the right is breaking laws or acting badly, then somebody (with the appropriate authority) will step in and do something about it